top of page

Dietary Supplements for Optimal Health as a Vegan

Updated: Apr 9, 2022


Dietary supplements are substances you might use to add nutrients to your diet or to lower your risk of health problems. Dietary supplement is an umbrella term that includes everything from vitamins and minerals to botanicals products, herbs or other plants.


Many adults and children take one or more vitamins or other dietary supplements. These supplements come in a variety of forms, including tablets, capsules, gummies, and powders, as well as drinks and energy bars. But the question is, do you really need to take supplements?


I am certainly not a doctor, but I can say that eating a variety of healthy foods is the best way to get the nutrients you need. However, some people don’t get enough vitamins and minerals from their daily diet, and their doctors may recommend a supplement. One example of this group of people is vegans!


One major concern in regards to a vegan diet is whether this diet provides your body with all the minerals and nutrients it needs. Many people believe a plant-based diet meets all the daily nutrient requirements so they advise vegans not to take extra supplements. While some others believe you do need to take supplements if you are vegan. The best way to actually know if you need to take supplements or not is to ask your doctor. So consult with your doctor before taking any supplements.


Here is a list of nutrients you may need to supplement if you are on a vegan diet


1. Vitamin B12

Since your body doesn't make vitamin B12, you have to get it from animal-based foods. Those animals ingested the B12 from the grass they consume. So, humans who eat other animals are supplementing B12 by ingesting the B12 contained in the meat. Of course, this does not apply to plant-based eaters.


Some plant foods seem to contain a form of vitamin B12 naturally so some vegans believe that by eating enough of these plant foods they will get the right amount of vitamin B12, but there is still no scientific basis for this belief. To get vitamin B12, vegans have to take a B12 supplement.


2. Vitamin D


Few foods contain vitamin D. Many dairy products, such as milk and yogurt, may contain added vitamin D, but these foods are not suitable for vegans. Also, it is important to know that even foods fortified with vitamin D, are considered insufficient to satisfy the daily requirements. This is why nowadays not only vegans but also omnivores could have vitamin D deficiency.


Aside from the small amount you get from your diet, vitamin D can be made from sun exposure. If you can expose yourself to the sun for at least 15 to 30 minutes, that would make enough vitamin D you need. However, the elderly, people who live in northern latitudes and colder climates, or even those who spend little time outdoors may be unable to produce enough. That being said, vegan or non-vegan if you are part of any of the previously mentioned conditions you should take a vitamin D supplement. Ask your doctor before taking vitamin D.


3. Omega 3


A plant-based vegan diet is generally high in some types of omega-3 fatty acids, but it is low in others.


"Plants with a high ALA content include flax seeds, chia seeds, walnuts, hemp seeds, and soybeans. EPA and DHA are mostly found in animal products like fatty fish and fish oil."

Long-chain omega-3 fatty acids, such as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) are nonessential, meaning that the body can make them using ALA.


"Additionally, research consistently shows that vegetarians and vegans have up to 50% lower blood and tissue concentrations of EPA and DHA than omnivores."

Based on this, usually, vegans are recommended to take Omega 3 supplements.


4. Iron

Iron from food comes in two forms: heme and non-heme. Heme is found only in animal flesh. Non-heme iron is found in plant foods.


Vegans with a low iron intake should aim to eat more iron-rich foods such as cruciferous vegetables, beans, peas, dried fruit, nuts, and seeds. You can request a blood test to see if you are getting and storing enough iron. Eating enough of these foods may mean that there is no need for supplementation.


5. Zinc


There are a few plant-based sources of zinc. However, plant compounds called phytates, which occur in many legumes and cereals impair the absorption of zinc.


To maximize your intake, eat a variety of zinc-rich foods throughout the day. These include whole grains, tofu, sprouted bread, legumes, nuts, and seeds. However, if you are concerned about your zinc intake, ask your doctor and if needed he or she will decide if you really need to take a zinc supplement.


Some other common nutrients and vitamins vegans may need to supplement are Calcium, Vitamin K-2, and Iodine.


If you are vegan and you are concerned about the lack or deficiency of any of these vitamins and nutrients, the best thing you can do is consult your doctor or nutritionist before taking any of these supplements. But if you have a well-planned vegan diet you may be fulfilling most of your nutritional needs.


Are all vitamins and supplements vegan?


Vitamins are a great way to make sure you are getting all your nutritional needs, but, beware that: not all vitamins are vegan. Some vitamins are animal-derived, and others contain animal products such as gelatin (which comes from animal skin and bones). So when looking for a vitamin, if you are vegan, make sure to read the ingredients label or to make sure the product is vegan. You can reference my previous blog post about how to read labels as a vegan to help you identify some of the non-vegan ingredients.


With that being said... which vitamins do I take?


Most of my vitamins are from Herbaland. Herbaland is a Canadian-based company, well-known as Canada's Largest Nutritional Gummy Manufacturer. Their facility is located in Richmond, BC.


All of their products are vegan, sugar-free, dairy-free, soy-free, palm oil derivative-free, nut-free, halal, and kosher, made with clean ingredients and all the gummies are YUMMY! They also take care about zero-waste packaging solutions, choosing energy-efficient production, and acquiring ethically sourced ingredients.


I super highly recommend this brand! And to be clear, this is not a sponsored ad. This is just a happy and loyal customer with excellent results since consuming Herbaland. If you can, you should also try their clean candies (without the active ingredients = vitamin) I AM OBSESSED! If you want to check their website you can find it at the bottom of the sources list.


 
Español a continuación

Suplementos Dietéticos para una Salud Óptima como Vegano


Los suplementos dietéticos son sustancias que puedes usar para agregar nutrientes a tu dieta o para reducir el riesgo de problemas de salud. Suplemento dietético es un término general que incluye todo, desde vitaminas y minerales hasta productos botánicos, hierbas u otras plantas.


Muchos adultos y niños toman una o más vitaminas u otros suplementos dietéticos. Estos suplementos vienen en una variedad de formas, que incluyen tabletas, cápsulas, gomitas y polvos, así como bebidas y barras energéticas. Pero la pregunta es, ¿realmente necesitas tomar suplementos?


Ciertamente no soy médico, pero puedo decir que comer una variedad de alimentos saludables es la mejor manera de obtener los nutrientes que necesitamos. Sin embargo, algunas personas no obtienen suficientes vitaminas y minerales de su dieta diaria y sus médicos pueden recomendar un suplemento. Un ejemplo de este grupo de personas ¡son los veganos!


Una de las principales preocupaciones con respecto a una dieta vegana es si esta dieta le proporciona a tu cuerpo todos los minerales y nutrientes que necesita. Muchas personas creen que una dieta a base de plantas cumple con todos los requisitos nutricionales diarios, por lo que aconsejan a los veganos que no tomen suplementos adicionales. Mientras que otros creen que es necesario tomar suplementos si eres vegano. La mejor manera de saber si realmente necesitas tomar suplementos o no es preguntárselo a tu médico. Por lo tanto, consulte con tu médico antes de tomar cualquier suplemento.


Aquí hay una lista de nutrientes que puedes necesitar complementar si sigue una dieta vegana.


1. Vitamina B12


Dado que tu cuerpo no produce vitamina B12, debes obtenerla de alimentos de origen animal. Esos animales ingirieron la B12 de la hierba que consumen. Entonces, los humanos que comen otros animales están suplementando la B12 al ingerir la B12 contenida en la carne. Por supuesto, esto no aplica para las personas que siguen una dieta a base de plantas.


Algunos alimentos vegetales parecen contener una forma de vitamina B12 de forma natural, por lo que algunos veganos creen que al comer suficientes de estos alimentos vegetales obtendrán la cantidad correcta de vitamina B12, pero aún no existe una base científica para esta creencia. Para obtener vitamina B12, los veganos deben tomar un suplemento de B12.


2. Vitamina D


Pocos alimentos contienen vitamina D. Muchos productos lácteos, como la leche y el yogur, pueden contener vitamina D añadida, pero estos alimentos no son aptos para veganos. Además, es importante saber que incluso los alimentos enriquecidos con vitamina D, se consideran insuficientes para satisfacer los requerimientos diarios. Es por eso que hoy en día no solo los veganos sino también los omnívoros podrían tener deficiencia de vitamina D.


Aparte de la pequeña cantidad que obtienes de tu dieta, la vitamina D se puede producir a partir de la exposición al sol. Si puedes exponerte al sol durante al menos 15 a 30 minutos, eso produciría suficiente vitamina D que necesitas. Sin embargo, los ancianos, las personas que viven en latitudes del norte y climas más fríos, o incluso aquellos que pasan poco tiempo al aire libre, pueden ser incapaces de producir lo suficiente. Dicho esto, vegano o no vegano, si eres parte de cualquiera de las condiciones mencionadas anteriormente, debes tomar un suplemento de vitamina D. Pregúntale a tu médico antes de tomar vitamina D.


3. Omega 3


Una dieta vegana basada en plantas generalmente es alta en algunos tipos de ácidos grasos de omega-3, pero es baja en otros.


"Las plantas con un alto contenido de ALA incluyen semillas de lino, semillas de chía, nueces, semillas de cáñamo y soja. EPA y DHA se encuentran principalmente en productos animales como pescados grasos y aceite de pescado".

Los ácidos grasos de omega-3 de cadena larga, como el ácido docosahexaenoico (DHA) y el ácido eicosapentaenoico (EPA), no son esenciales, lo que significa que el cuerpo puede producirlos usando ALA.


"Además, la investigación muestra consistentemente que los vegetarianos y veganos tienen concentraciones de EPA y DHA en sangre y tejido hasta un 50% más bajas que los omnívoros".

En base a esto, por lo general, se recomienda a los veganos que tomen un suplemento de Omega 3.


4. Hierro


El hierro de los alimentos se presenta en dos formas: hemo y no hemo. El hemo se encuentra solo en la carne animal. El hierro no hemo se encuentra en alimentos vegetales.


Los veganos con una ingesta baja de hierro deben tratar de comer más alimentos ricos en hierro como verduras crucíferas, frijoles, guisantes, frutos secos, nueces y semillas. Puede solicitar un análisis de sangre para ver si está obteniendo y almacenando suficiente hierro. Comer suficientes de estos alimentos puede significar que no hay necesidad de suplementación.


5. Zinc


Hay algunas fuentes de zinc a base de plantas. Sin embargo, los compuestos vegetales llamados fitatos, que se encuentran en muchas legumbres y cereales, perjudican la absorción de zinc.


Para maximizar su ingesta, come una variedad de alimentos ricos en zinc durante el día. Estos incluyen granos integrales, tofu, pan germinado, legumbres, nueces y semillas. Sin embargo, si te preocupa tu consumo de zinc, consulta a tu médico y, si es necesario, él o ella decidirá si realmente necesitas tomar un suplemento de zinc.


Algunos otros nutrientes y vitaminas comunes que los veganos pueden necesitar complementar son el calcio, la vitamina K-2 y el yodo.


Si eres vegano y te preocupa la falta o deficiencia de alguna de estas vitaminas y nutrientes, lo mejor que puedes hacer es consultar a tu médico o nutricionista antes de tomar alguno de estos suplementos. Pero si tienes una dieta vegana bien planificada, es posible que estés satisfaciendo la mayoría de tus necesidades nutricionales.


¿Son todas las vitaminas y suplementos veganos?


Las vitaminas son una excelente manera de asegurarte que estás obteniendo todas tus necesidades nutricionales, pero ten en cuenta que no todas las vitaminas son veganas. Algunas vitaminas son de origen animal y otras contienen productos de origen animal como la gelatina (que proviene de la piel y los huesos de los animales). Entonces, cuando busques una vitamina, si eres vegano, asegúrate de leer la etiqueta de ingredientes o de que el producto sea vegano. Puedes hacer referencia a mi publicación de blog anterior sobre cómo leer las etiquetas como vegano para ayudarte a identificar algunos de los ingredientes no veganos.


Dicho esto ... ¿qué vitaminas tomo?


La mayoría de mis vitaminas son de Herbaland. Herbaland es una empresa con sede en Canadá, conocida como el mayor fabricante de gomitas nutricionales de Canadá. Su instalación está ubicada en Richmond, BC.


Todos sus productos son veganos, sin azúcar, sin lácteos, sin soja, sin derivados del aceite de palma, sin nueces, halal y kosher, hechos con ingredientes limpios y ¡todas las gomitas son DELICIOSAS! También se preocupan por las soluciones de empaquetado sin desperdicio, eligiendo una producción energéticamente eficiente, y adquiriendo ingredientes de origen ético.


¡Recomiendo mucho esta marca! Y para ser claros, este no es un anuncio patrocinado. Esta es solo una cliente feliz y leal con excelentes resultados desde que consumió Herbaland. Si puedes, también deberías probar sus gomitas limpias (sin los ingredientes activos = vitamina) ¡ESTOY OBSESIONADA! Si deseas consultar su sitio web, puedes encontrarlo en la parte inferior de la lista de fuentes bibliográficas.




Sources:


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page